baby mat

Just before my son started crawling (a few weeks ago) he easily got bored just sitting on the same spot. So I started to make a playing mat. He quite often fell over, I made it with a thin layer of foam in between fabric of cotton to soften his falls. My idea was to fill the mat with things to play with, add some new things each week, so he wouldn't get bored. This hasn't happened yet, but it will!

The first thing I made was a butterfly. I cut out two layers of a bowtie shaped babycord cotton fabric. I left a hole in the middle to be able to get the stuffing in. Then I decorated the front bits with some yellow stitching, before I stitched the both layers together.
image57

Then I stuffed it with some bits of foam,
image58

and some plastic wrapper from a cookie package, to make it sound more interesting.
image59

I tclosed the middle with some zic-zac seams.
image60

I wrapped some string with a pink thread and then stitch them into place in the middle.
image61

A piece of green fabric was folded and stitched on the side, then turned inside out and wrapped around the middle of the butterfly, then stitched.
image62

I marked a circle on the fabric of the mat and stitched the green fabric on to it. Before I closed the seam I shoved in some bits of foam.
image63


The next thing was a strap with wooden rings and other things. I first made a strap in the same fabric as the mat. Then I marked with needles where I wanted to fasten it on to the mat. To make sure the fabric of tyhe mat wouldn't brake I ironed on some backing where the stitches would go.
image64

Before I stitched the strap on to the mat I stitched on my sons name on it. Then I just stitched the strap in to place where the marks were.
image65

It seems like he likes it! When finished I did realize that butterflies have heads, so my friend Finn will add one on later.
image66

....to be continued!
Evasleva:

Vad fint! Mycket smart gjort.

Kommentera inlägget här: