new dress

I'm in Gent on Holliday, and as usual I change to English in the blog when I speak it more often. It's like my diary, what comes natural is what I write. Holliday also means no work and more time for making!


I made this dress during my son's sleep this midday, so it only takes about 1,5 hours! I used a stretchy fabric I found in the closet.


I used one of my existing favourite skirts as a pattern and layed it out on double fabric with the fold in the front, you could also use a pattern if you have one you like. Meassure around where the bra sits on your body with a meassuring tape and make the top bit that wide, where the skirts waist line is on this picture.


It turned out looking like this. Then cut two long strips, about 25x125 cm (these are my meassurements and I'm a quite big gal). The 25 is a fourth of your "bra meassurement" plus ca 5 cm for fold and overlap allowance and the 125 is a meassurement that goes from the bra line, over the shoulder, under the arm and hanging down a bit, quite approximately....cut two smaller strips which meassures 10x10cm.


Start with folding and stitching the two smaller strips together, using an overlock seam, which I will keep on using, if nothing else is mentioned.


Turn them right side out.


Iron the folds of the longer strips, about one cm. And stitch the folds down with a cover stitch if you have an overlock that has one, a seam with the twin needle on a normal machine is perfectly fine as well.


Stitch the skirts pieces together on the sides. Pin the long strips sides on to the top of the front of the skirt overlapping each other in the middle, pretty sides facing eachother.


Fold the two small strips and pin them on the back of the top of the skirt cymetrical, quite qlose to the sides. (Don't mind that my strips are to long on the picture) Then stitch around the top of the skirt, all bits folded down, so the ends catch in the overlock seam.


Iron down a fold where you just stiched about one cm and topstitch it with a cover stitch, or twin needle. Iron a fold about three cm on the bottom of the skirt and top stitch that as well. Done!


Put the long strips through the smaller ones in the back.

I did it in a crossin the back, you can also do it straight if you want to.


Tie the strips in a simple knot in the front.

I used the dress today, it's very comfotble and it really works great! Yeah, it's warmer in Gent than Stockholm at the moment.
Emma:

Åh, här sprudlar det av kreativ aktivitet. Hejja, hejja!

Märta:

Snygg Kajsa!!! Sån klänning vill jag också ha!

Kommentera inlägget här: